(Click here to download a summary sheet of all the IHPA trophies and awards.)

Hang Gliding Trophies

HG XC Trophy

Hang Gliding Cross Country Trophy

Awarded to the HG pilot who made the longest XC during the year


hgdist large


2008 - Geoff McMahon

Year Winner Glider Distance From To Record

1977 Trevor Wilde SST 6 miles Minaun (Achill) Keem Bay Record
1978 Johnny Heron Scorpion 6 miles Nine Stones Borris  
1979 David Hickey Super Scorpion 7 miles Westerly Car Park Bunclody Record
1980 Pat Molloy Demon 31 miles Claragh Mt. Molls Gap (Co.Kerry) Record
1981 Pat Molloy Demon 36 miles Mt. Leinster Kilcullen Record
1982 Ian Kibblewaite Magic 2 48.3mi Mt. Leinster Kilternan (Co.Dub) Record
1983 Tom Dean Comet 42 miles Croghan Mt. Carnsore Point  
1984 Eddie Redmond Magic 3 43 miles Mt. Leinster Fethard  
1985 Ian Kirker Comet 166 30.5miles Nine Stones Mooncoin (Waterford)  
1986 Eddie Redmond Magic 4 31.5mi Mt. Leinster Rathdrum  
1987 Bernard Skelly   63 miles Devil’s Bit Hook Head Record
1988 Edward Redmond Magic 4 79.8mi Mt. Leinster Old Castle Co.Meath Record
1989 Leavan Mallin   61.5mi Mt. Leinster Lough Ennell  
1990 Thomas Dean   35 miles Mt. Leinster Carne Beach  
1991 Fran Denny   41.3 miles Devil's Bit Bagnelstown  
1992-2002 Winners not known – Did you win (or know who won) this trophy in these years? Please help!
2003 Shane O’Reilly
Ger Doherty
Climax 13
  Slieve Mish Mts. Dingle ?  
2004 Geoff McMahon Combat L 40 miles Mt. Leinster Newbridge  
2005 Daryn Clements Climax C2-14 46 miles Mt. Leinster Robertstown (Co.Kildare)  
2006 Geoff McMahon Combat L 80.43 miles Arra Blessington Record
2007 Geoff McMahon Combat L 39km Out and Return Mt.Leinster-Blackstairs


Three Steps to Hang Gliding

 Three Steps to Hang Gliding

Free Flight Magazine


Free Flight front covers

Freestyle Hang Gliding

 Freestyle Hang Gliding

Wallaby Ranch Hang Gliding


USHPA Magazine


Free Flight front covers

Learn to fly with Paraglide Adventure


IHPA Affiliations

Quest Air Hang Gliding


Google Translate